

Setting the Standards for **Home Energy Efficiency**



Minutes of RESNET Board Meeting March 10, 2016

Members Present

Ben Adams Jacob Atalla **David Beam** Dave Bell Steve Byers **Brett Dillon** Philip Fairey Matt Gingrich David Goldstein Andy Gordon **Roy Honican Cardice Howard** Mark Jansen Frank O'Brien-Bernini Lee O'Neal Jim Petersen Nancy St. Hilaire Kelly Stephens Daran Wastchak

Members Absent

Barb Yankie

Staff Present

Steve Baden Stephanie DeZee Laurel Elam Kathy Spigarelli

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by RESNET Board President Jim Petersen at 3:00 p.m. Eastern Time.

Roll Call

The roll was called by RESNET Board Secretary Brett Dillon, and a quorum was present.

Report of the 2016 RESNET Board Officers Nominations Committee

Mark Jansen delivered the 2016 RESNET Board Officers Nominations Committee report on their March 1st meeting to recommend the slate of board officers. Nominations committee members are David Beam, Mark Jansen, Jim Petersen and Nancy St. Hilaire. By a vote of 3-1 the committee voted on the following slate of officers that the nominations committee nominated:

Board President - Roy Honican (HERS Rater) Board Vice President - Jacob Atalla, (Production Builder) Board Secretary - Kelly Stephens, (Custom Builder) Board Treasurer - Lee O'Neal (Rating Provider)

Mark Jansen moved that "that the entire slate proposed by the RESNET 2016 Board Officers Nomination Committee be approved by the RESNET Board in whole". Nancy St Hilaire seconded the motion.

Jim Petersen ruled the motion out of order and proceeded to call for nominations from the floor. The following nominations were offered in addition to the recommendations of the nominations committee:

- Daran Wastchak nominated himself as board president
- Steve Byers nominated himself as board secretary
- Jim Petersen transferred the chair of the meeting to board vice president Andy Gordon and nominated Dave Bell as president
- Brett Dillon nominated Daran Wastchak as treasurer
- Brett Dillon withdrew his nomination of Daran Wastchak as treasurer and nominated himself as treasurer

Jacob Atalla requested to have his name withdrawn as board vice president due his being a bridge builder and not a divider and not wishing to serve as an officer of a divided board of directors.

Brett Dillon then nominated Andy Gordon as vice president

Daran Wastchak addressed the board on his experience on serving on the board for over a decade and reasons for wanting to serve as president and wants the board to have choices for officers

Steve Byers addressed the board and appreciates the work of the nominations committee but has served on the board for a number of years and served several committees within RESNET and thinks that the secretary position is important within the organization

Daran Wastchak made a motion that the officer is selected by a majority of the votes, Ben Adams seconded the motion. Motion was adopted by voice vote.

A roll call then was conducted for the officer of president of the board. The following are the results of the roll call.

Dave Bell (1)	Roy Honican (10)	Daran Wastchak (8)
Jacob Atalla	David Beam Philip Fairey Matt Gingrich David Goldstein Roy Honican Cardice Howard Mark Jansen Lee O'Neal Nancy St. Hilaire Kelly Stephens	Ben Adams Dave Bell Steve Byers Brett Dillon Andy Gordon Frank O'Brien-Bernini Jim Petersen Daran Wastchak

Roy Honican was elected as RESNET Board President

Philip Fairey made a motion to accept Andy Gordon as vice-president by acclamation, Jim Petersen seconded. Motion approved.

Andy Gordon was elected as RESNET Board Vice President.

A roll call was conducted for the office of board secretary. The following are the results of the roll call:

Kelly Stephens (10)

j = (1)	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Ben Adams	Jacob Atalla
Dave Bell	David Beam
Steve Byers	Philip Fairey
Brett Dillon	David Goldstein
Matt Gingrich	Roy Honican
Andy Gordon	Cardice Howard
Frank O'Brien-Bernini	Mark Jansen
Jim Petersen	Lee O'Neal
Daran Wastchak	Nancy St. Hilaire
	Kelly Stephens

Steve Byers (9)

Kelly Stephens was elected as RESNET Board Secretary.

A roll call was conducted for the office of board treasurer. The following are the results of the roll call:

Brett Dillon (9)

Lee O'Neal (10)

Ben Adams Jacob Atalla Dave Bell Steve Byers Brett Dillon Andy Gordon Frank O'Brien-Bernini Jim Petersen Daran Wastchak David Beam Philip Fairey Matt Gingrich David Goldstein Roy Honican Cardice Howard Mark Jansen Lee O'Neal Nancy St. Hilaire Kelly Stephens

Lee O'Neal was elected as RESNET Board Treasurer.

New Business

RESNET Executive Director gave a report on the 2018 cycle of the International Energy Conservation Code (IECC). Steve reported that there are 28 proposals on the Energy Rating Index option. RESNET staff will develop an outline for board member to review. Board will be deciding if they want to support, reject a proposal or stay neutral.

Philip Fairey requested that staff separate the International Code Council document of proposals that deal only with section 406 to distribute to the board.

Steve offered the option of the board consider each proposal as a whole for form a subcommittee to review and make recommendations to the board.

Frank O'Brien-Bernini instead suggested that the board first hold a teleconference on aligning what its philosophical position that the board would take on the proposals. He suggested that the board concentrate on the RESNET proposals on ANSI/RESNET/ICC standards 301 and 380 and stay neutral on such policy controversies as solar energy and changes in the Energy Rating Index scores.

It was a consensus of the board that this policy call will take first and then be followed up on sorting out the remaining proposals not covered by the board policy.

In the meantime, board members are encouraged to review the proposals on the Energy Rating Index option and communicate their thoughts by e-mail.

Board members are encouraged to attend the code hearing taking place in Louisville, Kentucky on April 18 through the 22.

Adjournment

Mark Jansen made a motion to adjourn. Meeting adjourned at 3:52 p.m. Eastern.